Referees are using their best judgment to detect diving. In a Belgian amateur match between Templeuve and Quevy, Julien Lecomte takes an elbow to the back of the head as he goes for a header. He suffered a concussion and three displaced vertebrae from the collision and had to be carted off the pitch on a stretcher.

The referee determined Lecomte was diving to win a penalty kick, and awarded the unconscious soccer player a yellow card. Since it was Lecomte’s second yellow of the match, the referee follows up with a red card to the injured player on the stretcher.

Check out the video:

[youtube width="500" height="300"]Qzbfxx8bq3M[/youtube]

Was this worthy of a yellow card for diving?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>